Chocolate Sugar Cookies (A.K.A. Deranged Moose Cookies)

With all the busyness of the holiday weekend I didn’t get the cookie recipe up. Better late than never though, so here it is.

The original recipe is from LilaLoa, found here.

I’ve added a few notes and some photos. Click on a pic to view the gallery. Refer to it as you need while going through the recipe. P.S. The chocolate frosting recipe follows. I used this frosting recipe because I didn’t want to make royal icing. It never tastes very good, especially with chocolate cookies. Let me know if you have any questions in the comments.

I couldn’t find the frosting recipe I used for these. I knew I should have Pinned it! So, if memory serves (fingers crossed) it went a little something like this:

1 1/2 sticks margarine (no need to soften)

1 cup cocoa powder

2-2 1/2 cups powdered sugar (to taste/consistency)

1 tsp vanilla

Milk (in tablespoons as needed for consistency; I didn’t need any)

I added a little more powdered sugar (maaaybe half a cup, no more) to make it a little thicker and because I used unsweetened cocoa powder so it was a little dark tasting. All you do is throw all the ingredients in one bowl and mix it up. I recommend mixing the butter and cocoa and a little sugar first, adding sugar slowly. Then add the vanilla and, if you need the frosting thinner, the milk. Beat with your mixer until you’re satisfied, tasting as you go.

I found this frosting set up really well in just a couple of hours, unlike royal icing which can take 24 hours to set up and then is rock hard. This also tastes much better. Do be careful when transporting though, the icing is still squishably soft, though not soft and sticky to the touch (i.e., you could press a fingerprint into it but you wouldn’t do any damage if you stack them in a baking pan for transport).

To decorate I simply spread the frosting on evenly, made an eye with a glob of white piping gel and stuck a chocolate sprinkle in the middle for the pupil. But, as you can see, they came out looking a little deranged. I’d love to see your take on the decorating. Leave a photo along with a comment.

Happy baking,

-Tara

Leave a Reply

